All reports
Monthly reportdeterministic · NMDPRA-sourced

Nigeria fuel sector in numbers — January 2026

Dangote refinery ran at 61.27% of installed capacity (−1.7 pts MoM). National PMS consumption was 60.2 ML/day — 120% of the NMDPRA 2026 benchmark of 50 ML/day (derived). Full breakdown of Nigeria's downstream sector from the NMDPRA fact sheet.

Generated 2026-09-20 from the NMDPRA fact sheet for January 2026.

This month in numbers

Refinery output — Dangote (DPRP)

Indicator2026-01
Utilization61.27%
Peak utilization67.69%
PMS production—
PMS domestic supply40.1
PMS exports—
AGO production—
AGO domestic supply10.9
AGO exports—
ATK production—
ATK domestic supply—
ATK exports—
Modular refineries — AGO domestic0.296

Average daily, ML/day unless noted. Source: NMDPRA fact sheet.

Supply & consumption vs regulator benchmarks

ProductConsumptionSupply (total)Benchmark
PMS60.2 ML/d64.9 ML/d50 ML/d
AGO19.2 ML/dnot reported ML/d14 ML/d
ATK3.5 ML/dnot reported ML/d3 ML/d
LPG4.86 kt/dnot reported kt/d3.9 kt/d

NMDPRA 2026 daily demand benchmarks shown for reference.

National fuel sufficiency (days of stock)

ProductDaysvs previous month
PMS33(+4 days MoM)
AGO34(+9 days MoM)
ATK20(unchanged MoM)
LPG18(+10 days MoM)

Days the country could coast on existing national stock at the average daily consumption rate.

Excludes DPRP PMS stock earmarked for the domestic market (per sheet note).

Gas sector

  • Total gas supplied: 4.837 Bscf/day.
  • NLNG: 2.931 Bscf/day.
  • Domestic: 1.906 Bscf/day.
  • Sectoral split — power 0.648, commercial 0.431, industries 0.573 Bscf/day.

LPG retail prices

  • LPG national retail range: ₦950–₦1,550/kg.

Trade flows & the Lomé question

  • PMS import receipts: 24.8 ML/day (NMDPRA).

Pipeline completion (NGIC, via fact sheet)

PipelineComplete
Akan-Koko (AKK)77.9%
Obang Archi–Obio-Akpor (OB3) overall99.9%
OB3 Niger delta crossing56.4%
Odidi–Warri (OWEP)66.8%
Escravos–Odidi (EOP)10.5%
ELPS midline92.7%
Overall69.7%

As reported in the sheet.

Sources & method

Every figure in this report is a value published by NMDPRA in the fact sheet above or an attributed market source. Values NMDPRA did not report render as “not reported” (shown as —). Figures labelled “derived” are arithmetic over published values (e.g. month-on-month changes, share of benchmark). This report is generated automatically and is informational; it is not trading advice.

Explore the full Intelligence layer →Sufficiency radar